Circumstances

And I normally say circumstances got nothing on me,

And I normally say Happiness is a choice, 

And I normally say mind is bendable to will,

But just for today I will feel sad that

He could not be like other dads

Who’d come home on time and eat dinner with me

And she could not be like other moms

Who’d learnt to be mature at 54,

And I could not be like other human beings 

By finding myself in the same old couch

Reminded again of my potential

Feelings and experiences to make me stronger

And happier.

And just for today I will be selfish

Not thinking about other people’s problems that are sadder than my own petty 

Circumstances. 

And tomorrow I will refuse to have acknowledged

The bitter thoughts that breezed by

Like nothing ever happened

And I was never selfish. 

Leave a Reply

